You can drive just about anything on the road…..cant you?


By Amy Streifel
Recently I was driving down our local Main Street and I got caught behind a moped. There were two girls riding and beeping and waving and not looking very safe. They weren't paying attention and I laid on my horn. I probably would have done the same thing at their age, but now I had to be a responsible adult. One of the girls turned around and waved…..my daughter, I should have known. Number one, she doesn't own a moped. Number two, doesn't she need a license for that or at the very least, a helmet? Shortly after that, I see a scooter go by with more teenagers on it. What exactly are the rules of these types of vehicles? It is more and more common to see ATVS and scooters cruising the streets. They are becoming more common on college campuses as well. After some research, I learned, to use paved roads, the vehicle must be able to travel 30mph or faster, lights must always remain on and the driver must have a valid license or permit. No license is required to operate any vehicle that is not on a public roadway. So where do mopeds and scoots fall from an insurance stand point?
Scooters fall under the same umbrella as motorcycle insurance and most states require some form of insurance for scooters with an engine of 50cc or higher. Electric bikes or E-bikes are also a growing trend, especially in larger cities. E-bikes generally have limited to no coverage under a standard homeowners or renters insurance policy because they're categorized as a motorized vehicle. If you own and ride an e-bike, you'll need a policy designed for e-bikes to be covered, which may include an e-bike insurance policy or in some cases, a motorcycle policy. Talk to your agent to find out the right choice for you. Either way, if you are driving on the street, you must have valid liability insurance!